What Insurance Coverage Should I Carry?

Under Florida law, drivers are only required to carry two types of auto insurance. In order to comply with Florida’s requirements, drivers only need to carry:
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – All drivers must carry $10,000 in PIP coverage. This is coverage that helps cover your medical expenses and lost wages regardless of who was at fault in the accident. Under Florida’s “no-fault” insurance law, filing a PIP claim is always your first source of financial recovery.
Property Damage (PD) – All Florida drivers must also carry $10,000 in PD liability insurance. This covers damage to other drivers’ vehicles and personal property in the event of an accident that is the insured driver’s fault.

Optional Coverage: Optional types of auto insurance coverage in Florida include:
● Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) – BIL covers other drivers’
and passengers’ losses in the event that you cause an accident resulting in significant or permanent injuries.
● Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) – UIM coverage allows you to seek compensation from your insurance company in the event that you get injured and are unable to collect enough compensation (if any) from the at-fault driver.
● Collision and Comprehensive – Collision and comprehensive insurance policies cover the damage to your vehicle should an at-fault driver’s PDL policy be insufficient, or should your vehicle get damaged due to weather, vandalism or a collision with an animal.

If you’ve been injured in an accident, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer immediately. For a free case evaluation, call the Miami Legal Firm at 305-265-2265

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *